Union Parish National Honor Society inducts new members

The 2023-24 UPHS National Honor Society members include, front row (L-R):  India Hill, Ja’Kayla Davis, Ailyn Flores, Lai Lanie Huggins, Sarah Hamilton, Shakira Miller, Logan Weaver, Martin Torres, Kaylee Strickland, Tyler Streets, Aaliyah Douglas. Back Row (L-R):  Sterling Murray, Alondra Flores, Gabriella Martinez, Fabiola Cantu, Castor Worthington, Maged Saleh, Zoe Booker, Grace Mason, Alyssa Sanner

By Elizabeth Laing
NHS Secretary

Eighteen of Union Parish’s best sophomore and junior scholars, all with GPAs above 3.4, were inducted into the Union Parish National Honor Society in October. 

The induction ceremony was called to motion and a brief welcome was provided by NHS President, Shakira Miller. The guests, new inductees, members, and faculty were led in the invocation and Pledge of Allegiance by senior member, Mario Andrews.

 Principal Nicholas McConnell then welcomed the new members congratulated them for their hard work and dedication, and explained how much of an honor it was to be inducted into this prestigious program.  

President Miller spoke of the importance of the National Honor Society and explained that the new members had all exhibited the four pillars that guide the standards of the NHS. 

NHS Reporter, Ja’Kayla Davis, lit the first candle and spoke of the importance of the Scholarship pillar to the society. Each speaker also chose a personal favorite quote representing their pillar.  Reporter Davis chose a James Russell Lowell quote:  “True Scholarship consists in knowing not what things exist, but what they mean; it is not memory but judgment.” 

The Service pillar was presented by NHS Vice President, Ivonne Reyes.  VP Reyes lit the candle and explained the significance of Service to the organization. Her selected quote was from Mahatma Gandhi, “The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.” 

The next pillar Leadership was shared by NHS treasurer, Zoe Booker who after lighting the candle presented the importance and the sacrifice of leadership. Her selected quote was, “Leadership is not about being in charge. Leadership is about taking care of those in your charge” by Simon Sinek. 

The final pillar of the NHS Character was presented by NHS Secretary, Elizabeth Laing. After lighting the last candle she explained the valuable meaning of character to the organization. Laing’s favorite quote was “You can easily judge the character of a man by how he treats those who can do nothing for him” by James D. Miles. 

After Laing stepped from the podium, President Miller swore in the new members by reciting the National Honor Society Pledge. 

The following students were then called to the front of the room to receive their certificates: Fabiola Cantu, Aaliyah Douglas, Ailyn Flores, Alondra Flores, Sarah Hamilton, India Hill, Tiara Johnson, Grace Mason, Gabriella Martinez, Sterling Murray, Maged Saleh, Alyssa Sanner, Tyler Streets, Kaylee Strickland, Kaidence Spencer, Martin Torres, Logan Weaver, and finally Castor Worthington.

 After the students received their certificates; the organization advisor, Lori Withers, hosted a lovely reception serving cake and punch for everyone. 

Check Also

How to Choose the Best Medicare Advantage Plan

Every year, millions of Medicare beneficiaries get the chance to make changes to their coverage …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *